Looking for Recommendations Before Going Lifetime

Roon newbie here. I am on the fence about purchasing Roon lifetime as I want to ensure my devices will work since there is no refund. I’ve read some posts on here and there are some horror stories.

I recently purchased KEF LS50W and the LSX is also in my future. I know the LS50W and LSX are compatible so I have minimal concerns with those two options.

I also have the Klipsch Stadium that I couldn’t let go of so it’s in my garage for work out motivation. The Stadium has Bluetooth, AirPlay, RCA, optical, and USB inputs. I assume I could purchase a Roon Ready streamer which should allow the Stadium to be used as an endpoint. I read the Bluesound Node 2i is a good option to achieve this. Are my assumptions correct and would the Bluesound be a good Buy?

My setup would be Roon Nucleus Core, KEF LS50 would be hardwired, Stadium could use AirPlay, I believe, or the streamer.

Thanks in advance for the advice.

-Matt

I think you have a month on annual before you incur a penalty for switching to life.
Should be enough time to test out your devices.

How is your WiFi out to the garage? Roon will severely test it.

In the garage, an RPi based endpoint will probably be adequate.

3 Likes

Hello and welcome to the community.

I’ve read the posts on the “horror stories” as you phrased it and I feel for those having issues but I don’t understand it. I have not had any significant issues in the year I’ve had Roon. I can only attribute that to luck that I had a robust Network in place before finding Roon. I assume it also helps that I live in an old neighborhood with large lots. Our closest neighbor is probably 100 yards away, so no interference.