Modernized Roon SDK

Hi! I’m a new roon user and loving it! I’ve spent the last 4 years or so building my vinyl collection and somehow missed out on this whole roon thing until now. :slight_smile: I’m also an SDK Architect at Microsoft so less than a week into roon and there are already some improvements I’d like to make…

I was surprised to find that roon doesn’t have Alexa integration and it’s bugging the crap out of me that I just can’t tell Alexa to mute the current roon zone when I get a call or have a meeting. I designed the Bot Builder SDK’s for the Microsoft Bot Framework so conversational experiences are kind of my jam and I’m planning to try building an extension that lets you control roon using your voice. To be clear, I’m not wanting to stream audio to the Alexa, just command and control.

Anyway I started diving into code last night and thought I’d introduce myself to the community. I’ve been digging to some of the existing extension code on github (thank you to everyone for sharing your work.) I was just wondering if anyone can give a summery of what the state of the node SDK’s are and who’s actively working on projects in the community? I see that it’s been many years since any new work on the node SDK but does everything still work? I’m assuming yes… Any gotcha’s I should watch out for?

Second… The first bit of work I’m doing is to modernize the current SDK some. I’ve created TypeScript definitions for most of the SDK packages and I have a new RoonExtension class I’m working on that bundles together all of the core SDK services and makes things a little easier to work with. It adds things like:

• EventEmitter support so you can have multiple components listen to cores pair/unpair.
  • Promises instead of callbacks so you can use modern async/await patterns.
  • Revocable Proxy support which is just a safety mechanism to ensure your code can’t talk to a core after it’s been lost/unpaired.
  • whatever else I can think of :slight_smile: