Mojo connection to iPhone 12 lightning port

Hi there,

I’m about to buy a Chord Mojo 2 for my iPhone 12 which of course just has a lightning port.

I’ve read that I need to purchase an Apple Lightning to USB (camera kit) adapter. However on Amazon I’ve seen MFI certified Lighting to USB-C cables.

My question is can I use one of these MFI certified Lightning to USB-C cables to directly plug into the Mojo 2’s USB-C port? I think it would be a much wider setup with one less interconnect.

Thanks for any advice
Nicko

My experience with the original Mojo and a certified OTG micro USB to Lightning cable was disappointing, and I ended up buying the Camera Adapter.

However, there appears to be much more choice with USB C, so I would give it a go, but use a familiar brand if possible. Nowadays I use a Poly.

1 Like

Nick, as I recall a normal cable like this will not work with the iPhone. You need an OTG (on the go) type Lightning to USB cable. I am no expert on OTG, so you may have to look into it. I bought the one below based on one of Darko’s posts and it works for me with the Mojo. This one is from China so it took a bit of time, but I see some others out there now. [Fixed the link.]

Fiio LT-LT1 Type-C to Lightning OTG Cable for iOS Connect BTR5 BTR3K — HiFiGo

1 Like

Thanks Martin for the quick response.

1 Like

Thanks Jed, I’ll take a look at that link.

I have the Mojo 1 and it does not need the CCK when connecting to an iPhone X, 12, SE or iPad.

It does however need the CCK when connecting to my iPhone 13.

All are one the latest firmware so have no idea what makes the 13 not accept a connection without the CCK. Have w ticket open with Apple and they’re looking into it.

I know you asked about Lightning to UBC C, but thought I should share my experience.

My gut feeling tells me you’ll be fine without the CCK as long as you get an OTG cable meant for data transfer.

Let us know :slight_smile:

1 Like