More Album Variations from Qobuz via Roon than Qobuz app

Apologies for what is probably simple user error, but I’m new to both the Lumin app and online streaming service. Have used the Lumin T2 for a couple years, exclusively for streaming my local content via Roon…

When I look up an artist such as Frank Zappa for example, in Roon, under Discography I select, say, Waka/Jawaka and scroll down to see that Qobuz has three different options for resolution.

When I lookup Frank Zappa on Qobuz in the Lumin App and choose any of the related folders, then scroll down to find a single Waka/Jawaka version - the 192/24 version. Why am I not seeing the other options?

Cheers,
Robert

1 Like

I’m guessing that Roon has a different (higher) level of access to the Qobuz database to that of the Lumin app. It appears that the Lumin app is getting the same result as a search using the Qobuz app does (192kHz/24bit).

@wklie may be able to clarify the situation.

This is the goal. We try our best to achieve this, although this is not guaranteed due to technical complications and other factors.

Instead of more or less, my definition of what is the correct set of Qobuz library to be available to a user is dependent on the user subscription type, streaming settings and region etc. according to Qobuz app / web. If there is a third party app that shows a different result from Qobuz app, even if you see something extra that is not supposed to be present, I’d consider that to be an anomaly.

2 Likes

I agree with that view if we assume Roon to be that 3rd party app. Roon appears to frequently show (with my basic Qobuz subscription) multiple albums of the same artist/title and the only difference being the sample/bit rate. The op’s observation, Waka/Jawaka (& to further complicate matters - Waka / Jawaka) is a good example. :thinking:

There are countless examples of albums available in different resolutions from Qobuz via Roon.