MQA on Raspberry Pi?

Exciting news that MQA is available through on Tidal, and works through Roon! In other news, AudioQuest announced that a firmware update will be available to enable MQA support on the DragonFly Red & Black. I already own a DF Red, so this has me wondering, can I build a Raspberry Pi endpoint that has full MQA support? I’m new to the Raspberry Pi thing, but it sounds like Roon Bridge makes it pretty easy to get a USB DAC working on the Pi. Once the MQA firmware is released for the Dragonfly, would this give the full measure of MQA goodness (for very little additional investment)?

Alternatively, are there any inexpensive HAT DACs that support MQA?

Andy

Disclaimer; I’m a non-techie Roon use who’s just bought a RPi to use as an endpoint, so about 2 pages ahead of you in the Roon manual!

My reading of things is that you’re correct; when the DF becomes MQA’d then an RPi should give you the full experience.

One thing you may have missed. Or that I may have got wrong - can other please comment (Renee?!).

Version 1.3 of Roon (not necessarily the initial release) should bring with it the ability for Roon to decode MQA, negating the need for a MQA capable DAC. Not a big issue for you as all you need is a firmware update, but great news for me as my M2Tech HiFace DAC isn’t due to get MQA capability.

Oh and I think V1.3 will also bring upsampling up to DSD rates (should your DAC be capable of handling it).

If so then the cost of Roon is starting to look decidedly good value (not that it wasn’t already)

Comments welcome from those who know what they’re talking about :grin:

not 100% sure I know what I’m talking about :stuck_out_tongue: but… looks software decoding will only be capable of unfolding MQA files’ sample rate but you will still need MQA certified hardware to get the full MQA quality

Having read up a bit more since my post that would certainly seem to be the case with the next release of Audirvana coming out soon ( see MQA website)