MQA path through Roon

Hope someone might be able to help me as I’m not very technical. I have two questions. I will shortly be updating my (original) Chord Hugo for a MQA DAC now that Roon is fully MQA compatible. I also have an SOtM SMS-200 Ultra, tx-USB Ultra and sPS Power Supply feeding the Hugo which has hugely improved the sound. The SOtM SMS-200 is my Roon endpoint.

Q1. If i replace Hugo with a fully compatible MQA DAC the MQA signal will go through two SOtM products before arriving at the DAC. Will the MQA DAC still be able to do the full rendering or will it be compromised in any way?

Q2. Is anyone using the SMS-200 as a Roon core? my core is currently on an iMac and I get the occasional dropout with DSD files. How capable is the SMS-200 running Roon core?

Thanks

1. Yes

2. The SMS-200 is an endpoint only. You can not run a Roon Core on it.

As a satisfied Chord customer I’m interested to learn why you think MQA will offer more than the Chord Hugo. Certainly, as a company they’ve rejected MQA, and from my listening tests I hear no discernible difference between a TIDAL Master played straight or with Roon performing the first unfold.

Here’s what Chord say on the matter of MQA:

Fundamentally, we’ve looked at MQA, and it’s not for us," says John [Franks]. "It’s a clever idea as a packing system. But you don’t need to pack your audio down. It solves a problem that’s not there now. We looked at it and we thought it was inferior to what we were doing, so we haven’t touched it.

2 Likes

If you ever feel the need to ‘upgrade’ to the Chord Qutest, I’m happy to take the 2Qute off your hands ;-). I really do wanna try a fpga-dac

They are fantastic and I wouldn’t trade my 2Qute for anything other than another Chord DAC.

Sorry, but I won’t be trading up any time soon. But you can still buy a 2Qute for around £700 … a steal. :grinning:

1 Like

Ooh where? In NL they are still over 1.100 euros.