My ROCK still sounds flat

I have been running Roon ROCK for over 16 months now on a Intel i7 NUC,
I still cant figure out why 95% of what I listen to just sounds so flat, no clarity, depth, etc.!
Pretty basic setup. I am by no means an audiophile yet it would be nice to have a little more clarity.
Just for giggles I tried Audirvana and for some reason it just sounded so much better. I have no intention of switching over, so I know I must be doing something wrong.

I have tried doing some minor tweaks turning on the DSP EQ, yet that is quite a rabbit whole to go down

Have you try hooking up ROCK directly to your DAC via USB connection?

Yes that’s how I started using Roon ROCK direct connect to DAC, though I was under the impression from what I read on the forum was not to do this and to use an end point. To be honest I didn’t hear any difference except that I was able to move my NUC into my network closet so I don’t hear the fan anymore.
I was experiencing some drop outs though after upgrading the software on my end point that fixed that issue.

Some people (myself included) think that Audirvana does sound better but if there is a significant difference between Roon and Audirvana in your system then there might be something amiss somewhere.

Both Roon ROCK and Audirvana output bit perfect, the only different is ROCK runs on it’s custom designed Linux OS while Audirvana runs on Mac OS.

Overall I find Roon has a transparent sounding; whether you call it as ‘flat’ or ‘lack of sparkle’. I used to have JRiver running on Windows and when I compared, they do sound slightly different.

If you are using USB cable to DAC, this cable is very crucial. Try experimenting different make of USB cables; it can indeed change the SQ by quite a large margin. Add in anti-jitter bug can sometimes help.