Naim Mu-So 1st gen use digital input to be Roon ready?

I am new to Roon and would like to use a Naim Mu-So 1 for one zone. This is roon tested but not roon ready and won’t group with my Bluesound Node 2i. It does have a digital toslink digital input. I could get another Node but is there any lower cost/profile alternative for this? Would the Google chrome cast audio work?

I have a first gen Muso in the bedroom, and you will have to use airplay to cast Roon to it natively. Not sure about the Node, but I guess that would be one way of doing (I use the optical input for a TV). Generally for multizone one has to link like for like gear with it.

You’d need a streamer with Toslink running Roon Bridge. Probably the cheapest way to build this is RaspPi 3 “B+” and HiFiBerry digital HAT + RoPieee (or other image that supports RAAT).

Unless you have an old MBP laying around then you can use the headphone / optical jack for free.

Chrome Cast will not work as it does not support RAAT; it supports Cast. To group RAAT “Roon Ready” devices together they must support RAAT.

The other “free” option is to enable the Bluesound Node 2i as an Airplay device. Then, in Roon, you can group the Mu-So and your Node 2i together using Airplay. You can enable both RAAT and Airplay at the some time to the Node 2i. Use RAAT when single and Airplay when grouping.

Thanks for the reply Charles, I am trying to avoid Airplay/ ITunes.

I have seen the Raspberry Pi option, does anyone sell these put together? You have to run Slimserver with these? I am not into diy.

I’m guessing MBP is MacBook Pro. I have an old Mac notebook (one of the first with 17” screen) that I haven’t used in many years.