Native DSD with Fiio Q5 & Q1 mk II

Hi! I am new to Roon but already am very thankful for the efforts in the making of RoPieee. This is truely brilliant, thank you!

I have two DSD capable DACs from Fiio which I’d love to be able to use natively if that’s possible. I’ve been searching for some info on how to do that but it looks like support has to be added in Ropieee for it to work. It’s not top priority obviously but I thought if I asked nicely… :slight_smile:

I’ve hit the feedback button while the Q5 was connected: fa837a25e5d5dc0c

And here’s the feedback id number with the Q1 mk II connected: 0d396032f5002bc5

Possible or not, thanks for reading!

@CSB HI Christopher,

I looked at your logs and it looks promising. It seems that both DAC’s advertize the necessary bits to enable native DSD on Linux.

I’ll create a patch for these and build a Linux kernel for it somewhere the coming weeks. I’ll keep you posted.

Regards Harry

4 Likes

While you are at it I’ll also provide a latest FiiO M11 DAP when I get it in about 2 weeks (hopefully) and my FiiO BTR3 that can also be used as a DAC

Thanks very much Harry!

I’ve Fiio Q1mk2 so it is covered here. I also have Topping dx3 pro running on ROCK. Though I use DoP, I would very like to have native DSD support.

http://www.tpdz.net/products_detail/productId=39.html

@spockfish How do go about it providing the info for you? Thanks

@MusicFidelity with your DAC connected to your Raspberry running RoPieee, click the ‘send feedback’ button under the Advanced tab of the web interface. Paste the id # here, ask @spockfish nicely.

1 Like

Don’t forget the donations button on Harry’s website too…must send him another top up myself :smiley:

2 Likes

Hi @CSB,

I’m not sure how much you live dangerously :wink: but on the beta channel the new kernel update is available.

Possible downside: a beta is a beta :wink: