Need a stable wireless network - is it possible?

I have the latest Rock installed on a NUC8i7. I’m fairly new to Roon and truly I love it! But before going lifetime I have to make sure I can use it to play music in all of my three rooms.

I know, that Roon recommend network by cable. My NUC is connected to the router by cable and I have my main listening system connected to my NUC. But for my other rooms this is not possible because of practical reasons.

• I have my router placed in the exact middle of my apartment 2 meters above the floor. I live in a appartient with some but not strong networks from my neighbors.
  • One wireless speaker (B&O A9) is placed 3 meters and directly visible from the router.
  • The other wireless speaker (B&W A7) is placed in the room next door, 5 meters from the router with a fairly thin brick wall in between (This speaker unfortunately is only capable of using the 2.4GHz band (for Airplay), which could be part of the problem? I have a Chromecast Audio connected to this speaker and using its 5GHz band makes it more stable)

I have a 7 year old Apple AirPort Extreme router. Sometimes I have dropouts (happens on both wireless speakers). The build-in Airplay and Chromecast on the A9 are extremely unstable, almost unusable.

Because of these issues, and because Roon explicitly advise against the AirPort Extreme, I bought a Asus AX86U. But the AX86U turns out to be even worse. More regular dropouts - especially on the speaker (Airplay) 5 meters from the router (according to AX86U the 2.4 signal are very strong though)

Also I used to have my USB external harddisk connected to the Airport Extreme for backup purpose. Working fine, although a little slow. AX86U has two USB ports, but unfortunately the harddisk is only visible every other day.

I have spent much (to much!) time trying to finetune the Asus AX86U settings - and now I have given up on it. I will try to get my money back.