Network Cable Change - crazy but true

I made some configuration changes in the last few weeks which resulted in a network cable becoming free in my set up. The cable in question is the Wireworld Starlight Cat 8 Ethernet Cable. It’s the red flat cable but I bet this could work with any quality cable. I run Roon on my QNAP TVS-471. I have been running it there for almost two years now. When I set up the NAS I used whatever cable was handy. In this case it was an elcheapo network cable. It was what was near to my hand at the time. I forgot all about it. Today I swapped the elcheapo cable for the Wireworld cable. I cannot believe what happened next. Suddenly any time I access the QNAP from the GUI is happens in an eye blink. Much faster than with the cheap network cable in place. Also I tried loading Roon on my laptop and again on my iPad and bam it happened super quick. I am not sure what I was trying to accomplish by rewiring the NAS except to use the Wireworld in a place where I thought I would get the best benefit and I guess I accomplished that. I am super impressed and I don’t impress easily. Just wanted to share my experience in case it benefits others.

Gigabit devices need gigabit cables (4 pair, Cat 5e or better), otherwise they will auto-negotiate to a lower speed - as you found. As long as a cable is correctly marked, the manufacturer should be irrelevant.

2 Likes

Not crazy at all.

If your elcheapo network cable has 4 wires, it’ll run at 100Mbps instead of 1000Mbps.

Even if your elcheapo network cables has 8 wires but is not designed for 1000Mbps operation or its quality is poor, it may also run at 100Mbps instead of 1000Mbps.

It is usually possible to determine whether a network cable is running at 1000Mbps or 100Mbps, by checking the LED color of the network port at either or both ends. With certain devices (e.g. WiFi router) they may even have a GUI display of the network status of each port.

2 Likes