Network Power Question

I read many posts regarding power supply upgrades to network devices with interest. If I have my router connected to a 5-port Netgear ethernet switch with all my dedicated audio devices connected to it, would I have to do both devices to get any possible benefit or could I just do the switch?

The only one who can tell if there is a difference is you. Try it and see.

3 Likes

If there is a benefit, I believe that 99% will come from the switch, and 1% from the router. I would go for the switch only.

How did you arrive at those percentages?

1 Like

Some people have too much imagination.

1 Like

I am not a “super” audiophile but I am a network engineer :wink: - and as long as we disregard any voodoo, there is absolutely no way changing power cord/brick to a switch can change anything in network traffic!!! If your switch backplane is overloaded and you are having latency issues that can cause interrupts but it still will not affect the actual tonality, etc of sound - and if you having latency issued on a wired ethernet device you need to replace/upgrade either the switch or cabling
 that’s assuming music is local - if you are streaming then of course you connection to ISP is the main bottleneck.

3 Likes

2 Likes

I am not a network engineer, but an “audiophool” hobbyist who keeps trying various tweeks and then listening for positive changes to music reproduction.

Assuming that you have sufficiently revealing hifi equipment in an acoustically-appropriate environment and time (and $$) to waste, you might want to explore the fine points of noise reduction for digital music. For me, this has been a rewarding sonic adventure.