New Music Audition > Purchase > Library Flow

I’m still new to Roon (1-2 months?) and still trying figure out the best flow for this.

I ‘audition’ a lot of new music on an ongoing basis, usually a few hundred releases a week. I find the stuff I want to hear, I add it to a queue, I chew through it all, keep the stuff that’s interesting, then figure out from that what I want to buy and put in my local collection.

Question is, since now so much of what I’m doing - auditioning and hanging on to new stuff through streaming first then bringing in downloaded content into the same system - I’m curious to see how anyone else organizes all this in Roon.

I find what I want to give a fair listen to and add that to my Tidal library (my ‘audition’ queue). So now it’s mixed in with my albums in Roon. All good so far.

I listen through it all and remove what doesn’t pass the test. Still working.

Now I buy all the stuff I want to keep permanently and add it to my local library. Now I have dupes. I started deleting the Tidal versions (just like all my pre-Roon local library) but then I don’t have them available to stream outside the house in Tidal.

I can HIDE the Tidal versions after I add them into my local library. Or I can, instead of adding releases I only want to audition into my Tidal collection, just tag it or do something else to keep it in order.

Any thoughts? I’m really interested to hear about any new music discovery > vetting > permanent purchase flows everybody has going on in Roon.

1 Like

One way is to set up Focus to see all albums added after a certain date, then Bookmark that list.

You can also use Focus to see all albums from Tidal or all albums in your location storage locations.

This won’t necessarily help you to keep Tidal albums, that you have locally, out of Roon but in Tidal, but it will help you see what’s where.