New with Raspberry: need some guidance what Raspberry is needed for stereo analog output

Hello All:
I am new with Raspberry Pi: I need to setup a Raspberry Pi that connects via Ethernet to Roon and has stereo output for a pair of analog speakers.

Can someone please provide some guidance:

• what raspberry I need to purchase (I understand that this is some sort of DYI system, but do not know which component to choose)
  • what software I need to install so it operates as a Roon endpoint

Many thanks and apologies if these questions sound too trivial.

I use a Raspberry Pi 4b running Ropieee XL straight into a DAC and then an Amp, for your needs you will need to get a combined DAC/AMP Hat (There are many of these at different price points, part of the fun is deciding which to use!).

You’ll need a Raspberry Pi 3B+ or 4, plus a DAC amp hat, e.g., IQaudIO DigiAMP+. Incidently, I have this card, and it is excellent.

Thanks @Glimmer !
I am actually getting a bot confused with so many choices around. Can you please send a couple of DAC/AMP HAT options? The only option I have found and exploring at the moment is DigiAMP+ and trying to understand what else is needed on top.

You’ll need these items:

1. Raspberry Pi 3B+ or 4
  2. DigiAMP+
  3. Micro SD card (16GB) to install Ropieee
  4. Case designed for RPi and hat (specific to models chosen)
  5. A power supply–not the standard RPi variant since this will also drive the amp (this is what I use)
  6. Speaker cable
1 Like

Do you have a budget in mind? This would help to narrow down your options.

This is excellent advice!

1 Like

You can’t go wrong with a HifiBerry Amp+ HAT. You need a case, SD card, the 19v power supply and Ropieee XL software to install on the card. You can then connect this direct to speakers. I have used two of these for years.

4 Likes

This is also excellent advice!

No budget really. But I do not need anything of very high quality, it is just for my patio.