Newbie Questions - Tidal Sync, Hardware and Mobile?

Hey Folks!

I was recommended Roon by a fellow audio-nutball and figured i would give it a spin.

My house is currently decked out with Sonos gear, and while i thrive on its simplicity and convenience, music-discovery and audio reproduction have always frustrated me.

Supplementing this, i have a Deezer Elite subscription and Plex for my multimedia management and to continue consumption of media on the road. As i mentioned…this works great but it has its limitation / frustrations.

So, i downloaded Roon & signed up for a Tidal trial today to give it a spin and get a true experience of this service, and i am still getting to grips with its capabilities. However i had a few questions:

• Is there any “end-point” that offers a Sonos like experience? (Always on, ready to play, integrated)

• Tidal is a great service from what i see, especially when supplemented with my own library, i noticed that it “Syncs”. Is that sync two way or just one way? (e.g. if i create a playlist in Tidal -> Roon and also Visa-Versa. (are playlists edited also updated back to tidal (and visa-versa)

• Mobile applications - Assuming i discover some great content, favourite songs and albums, build some great playlists…are these tied to my house? Is there any mobile application to enable me to continue that same experience “on the road” (i didnt see much in the app store).

• Smart Playlists - Does Roon support the capability to build smart playlists? (e.g. Top 25 Tracks Played, Etc).

Many thanks for any help / guidance / assistance and, sorry in advanced for my newbie-style questions :slight_smile:

Tom

Hi Tom,

Great to have you on board with Roon, hopefully your music discovery concerns might be over ! As to your questions: