Not Getting Native DSD Playback - microRendu to Mutec MC3+USB [Solved]

I have been trying some DSD files via Roon to microRendu, to Mutec MC3+USB. They play ok, but Roon is performing DSD to PCM conversion

The microRendu’s settings are as follows:

OK, not a big deal, music plays, but I presume I would get better results sending DSD to the mR/Mutec, rather than performing the conversion in the PC via Roon. Is there any reason why Roon is converting rather than sending DSD to the mR?

The Roon settings are as follows:

I’m probably doing something completely stupid, but baffled nonetheless. Any ideas?

Are you sure the MicroRendu supports Native DSD to that DAC? I don’t see it on their list.

If it doesn’t, you should be able to avoid conversion to PCM by using DoP. Let us know how it goes!

1 Like

Thanks Mike, it looks like you are absolutely correct. I’ll be honest, I’m new to trying the world of DSD, other than good old fashioned SACD’s in a disk player. I think I’d just made a newbie’s mistake, I’d read that both the mR and Mutec could deal with native DSD, but missed the subtly of the mR not supporting native DSD to the Mutec. Anyway, at least I’m on the learning curve now.

One last puzzle, I’m playing a DSD64 track now, the Mutec itself is indicating DoP64and the amp/DAC is indicating that it’s receiving 44.1Khz from the Mutec. Is this correct? Sound quality is excellent, but I’m thinking 44.1Khz is low? As I said before, I am new to DSD, much to learn! Oh how simple the world of PCM now seams…