Notes to B&W Roon 60 Day Trial Users

I am on day 7 of my trial. I have found a few things that might be helpful to new Roon users with Formation equipment. This is not meant to be definitive in any way. It is just my impressions based on my current setup.

I purchased a Formation Wedge and an LG V40 a month ago. I have been largely a Spotify user for the last four years. Several videos on John Darko’s channel confirmed my phone upgrade to the V40. My living quarters and budget made the Formation Wedge a good choice.

Next came the upgrade to Tidal triggered by the Formation remote integration. That was the first time I heard of Roon. Which is somewhat odd since I work as a digital asset management developer. What followed was a deep dive into Quad DACs, aptx HD, HiFi and MQA streaming…Save yourself some trouble and look at these videos, unless you just enjoy traversing a rat’s nest of hyper opinionated audiophile opinions.

General approach to HiFi streaming: 8 things to ignore
Rooning to the extreme:

So, now I have the Wedge working with Tidal but am still a bit unclear on why I really need Roon. At this point I think all I want is Tidal Connect for the Wedge. An opinion that changes once I start using Roon a little later.

I have pretty broad tastes as reflected in this playlist

But there is one particular recording that is my ultimate test. To be considered anywhere near perfect for my listening the system has to be able to reproduce the Telarc recording of Saint Saens #3 Organ. The Wedge got it all but the lowest notes. Adding a Formation Bass with the gain upped a couple notches did the trick for me.

Because I’m not using Roon at this point I’m streaming over aptx HD to the Formation. This feels wrong despite the fact that at my age my ears no longer pick up on the full MQA experience. I’ve gotten comfortable with aptx HD since purchasing a pair of PX7ss for morning listening before the entire household is up.