Nuc powerfull enough for ROCK?

Hello,
Planning of purchasing NUC for my streaming box to the dac. I am relatively new to this scene and don’t want to spend big on streaming box just to get started. (Currently using 2018 Macbook Air)

Found a second hand NUC5I5RYK-NUC ( i5-5250U) Is this going to be good enough for ROCK?

If you are not going to be doing any heavy duty DSP or upsampling, that will be fine for the CPU.
Take a look at how much RAM it has and size of the disk. ROCK doesn’t need a lot, but you don’t want to come up short here. Roon has published minimal specifications (in the KB). It doesn’t take a lot for normal sized libraries and modest sample processing power.

Just to give you a sense of how much CPU is needed, I have a fairly old i7 computer (CAPS Zuma). I use DSP for room correction and I’m running at 50X to 90X what is needed. If I try to also convert to higher levels of DSD it drops down to 1.5X (1 is minimally recommended). Fortunately I don’t prefer the sound with DSD conversion so I have plenty of room to spare on the CPU side.
8GB RAM and 256 GB SSD and you have plenty.

Hello - that is exactly the model of NUC that I purchased almost 3 years ago, originally for Roon on Win10 and then subsequently with ROCK.

Admittedly, I don’t do much DSP or upsampling, and usually run only 1 zone, but the performance has been faultless.

Have a Roon Core running through ROCK on a NUC5i3 with 8GB RAM with a 240GB SATA SSD, it works fine with a NAS based library of circa 82k tracks/6,200 albums.
Use DSP to downconvert higher formats to DSD64 & 24/192 PCM appropriately. Have a number of zones but normally not simultaneously, however did try all of them (6) at once without issue.

So a NUC5i5 should be fine, unless you want to up convert to DSD512 (why this is necessary beats me, given that the file’s native format is going to be best, but some do, though I think because they can! :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:)

Thank you for your answers!