NUC/ROCK internal storage query

Whilst I have been using Roon for some time now I am not very technical and a lot of what is posted goes above my head. I have a NUC/ROCK with an internal 4Tb SSD with an external USB attached.

I always thought that storing your library in the NUC internal storage was a no no (recollect reading this but don’t know why it is a potential problem) so I have my library stored entirely on the USB.

This works fine apart from having to disconnect the USB every so often to add files. However, I have just read a post elsewhere on the forum where it is obvious some users are storing their libraries in the NUC internal storage.

Please could someone clarify what is best. It would make life easier to store files internally on the NUC if it is not to the detriment of ROON software.

Thanks

All NUC models have space and a connector for an M.2 SSD. This is where RoonOS and the Roon software are installed. It cannot be used for local music file storage.

Some NUC models have space and a SATA connector for an additional 2.5" drive (HDD or SSD). It is this internal drive that can be used for local music file storage.

3 Likes

In addition to what @Geoff_Coupe wrote, you can access the external USB disk over the network from your main computer while the USB disk is attached to the NUC. You don’t have to disconnect it to copy music to it, but there’s no harm in doing it that way, either.

If you do disconnect it, ensure that you shut down the NUC before disconnecting the disk, in particular if it is formatted with the NTFS file system of Windows. (And in this case also ensure that you follow the “safely remove hardware” procedure of Windows before you disconnect it from a Windows machine)

2 Likes