NUC vs QNAP tradeoffs

Hi I’m trying to figure out the tradeoffs between roon core on a NUC vs QNAP with raid 5. My library is medium sized—about 1500 albums of DSD and FLAC, takes about 3.5 TB right now.

So my understanding is that with a NUC you’d have a giant USB drive attached to it for the music and the database on the internal SSD. Similarly with the QNAP. And with both you’d need a mirroring backup, which means another giant hard drive attached to them with USB 3. Correct?

What are the tradeoffs regarding expansion, performance, easy of maintenance, reliability and noise?

I’m a computer scientist who isn’t unwilling to tinker, but not have to deal with maintenance/upgrading/etc issues constantly. I want it to just work for the most part. (I spend enough time with technology 10 hours a day for work already anyway.)

Currently I’m running a lifetime roon core on an i5 Mac with a NAS. There’s stuttering. Probably because I have the database on the NAS.

Thanks very much.

With a NUC/Rock the Roon software and database should be on the internal M.2 drive for best performance. You can add an internal SATA SSD for your music library, or a USB attached SSD/HDD, or point the software to network connected NAS. Your choice. My preference is the internal SATA drive.

In my experience the NUC i7/ROCK server is the least maintenance and best performance. All updates to OS and software come from Roon, no windows, mac or NAS software involved. Availability is 24/7.

My NUC is in a media closet with the entertainment system and network components. My only concern with noise comes from the active cooling for the media closet. I’ve not heard the fan from the nuc. It that is a concern you can install it in a fanless enclosure.

The Roon database backup can be to USB attached SSD/HDD, not internal.

For Music library backups use your preferred method.

2 Likes