NUC7i7DNHE issues/ freezing

Hello all, I have been using the NUC7i7DNHE for two months now. Two days ago, the rock could not be reached anymore via network. It started with the webpage on the NUCs being still accessible, while the iOS apps could not find the server anymore. Rebooting was not working a few times, but finally got the ROCK back running. Until about 24h later, when it completely died. I replaced every part I can (RAM, SSDs) and reinstalling ROCK. But the NUC freezes at different stages in the setup process. The farthest I got was ‘Installing Rock’ and then the cursor eventually stops flashing within a minute or so and nothing happens anymore. Did update the BIOS of the NUC and did load a fresh ROCK image to my bootable stick. But no changes unfortunately.

So…I am new to Roon/ Rock - does that sound like a Roon issue or might the NUC be dead? Does anyone have experienced something similar?

Regards, René

Have you tried a different PSU? These can have really odd effects on computers if they are on the edge of failing.

No I haven’t. Only got the on PSU. A friend suggested that, as well. But I have no way of testing that other than ordering a replacement one.

If its still under warranty worth contacting Intel and see what they say it may need a full replacement.

Just did that. From the first replies here I gather it’s rather hardware than Roon/Rock.

After updating BIOS, do step 3 of this again even if it looks unchanged:
https://kb.roonlabs.com/ROCK:_Updating_and_Configuring_BIOS_On_Your_NUC

I did that. Treated it like a completely new NUC.

Observe whether the CPU fan works properly. If the BIOS shows a fan speed, check whether it’s normal.

If the BIOS allows you to disable TurboBoost, underclock the CPU and/or RAM, try those too.

You may verify the hardware by installing Windows or a conventional Linux distribution such as Ubuntu.