NUC's storage network availability

Good day! I’m new in roon, so could somebody please clarify - if I install ROCK on intel NUC and have internal SSD as storage, will it be available for other devices in my network, for example for storage of videos? Will I be able to create a folder for downloads on that NUC’s internal SSD and use this path for torrent client ?

Thank you in advance.

The internal.drive the OS is installed on is used entirely for the OS, no storage at all. If you put a 2nd drive to store music, other devices could see it,but, it is not designed to be general.use storage

It also needs to be formatted for use with ROCK as an internal drive so whatever is on there now will be gone. Also its only accessible with SMB-V1 so that might limit some connections.

Thank you. Yes, of course I assumed the second drive, not the one for OS.
Correct me if I’m wrong - can other devices see the 2nd drive but won’t be able to save data on it?

yes they should see the Share of Data folder which contains the Storage folder…as seen on my MAC

But if I connect the second drive as an external (via USB f.e.) will it be available for other network devices as a storage to save and move files on ?

Yes but the format might need to be specific for ROCK to see it…you can check the KB area perhaps https://kb.roonlabs.com/ROCK:_Storage_Basics

Hello @Nikita_Korovin,

We do not recommend using the NUC’s internal SSD as a personal storage location. This drive is designed to be a storage source for Roon media and Roon is watching this drive as a whole for any new content.

Anything you place on the drive will be scanned by Roon, and if for example you have any files with multiple small media files included in them (such as program files that contain sound samples), these would be automatically added to your Roon Database.