Oh my god, I love my music

I graduated high school in '97. I had my 2x2 (4 page) Case Logic stolen TWICE and it cost me over a grand each time. After that, Napster came out and I never looked back. I went full digital.
I realized that I actually have a digital music collection - and it’s all stuff I’ve loved at some point in my life. Enough to buy it, borrow it, rip it, etc. it’s all my greatest hits, and not only that, but remind me of parts of my life. It’s deeply personal, and musical and just for me.

Not everyone has that - generations now have the world at their finger tips and it’s just too much.

I think there must be a point in here somewhere - but I’m in a two beer flow state and wanted to share.

cracks #3. drops mic.

3 Likes

I hope you didn’t rip any borrowed CD’s.

Of course not. But - not the point Jim.

3 Likes

I’m with you. Acquiring music meant sacrificing something; time, effort, money. It meant choosing what to get. If you can get everything without effort, then, it really doesn’t mean much. When I go on vacation, I always stop at a music store (or used music store) and pick something up. When, I pick up my copy of Nights from the Alhambra by Loreena McKennitt, I remember I had purchased it on a snowy night in old Qubec from a used record store.

But, more than just the music, the actual physicality of the music format can harbor memories as well.
(side note, that is why retaining concert stubs was important to me).