Optimal Nucleus system

Newbie here,

I’m very interested in the Nucleus. But I’m a bit confused as to how it would ideally be integrated in an audio system. In reading about ideal Roon setup, Sound Quality Rule #1 is “Core and Output on separate devices.” But it seems to me that the Nucleus is designed to be directly connected to a USB DAC, and would have the Core, Library, and output on one device. Wouldn’t this combination degrade the SQ?

Thanks

Nucleus is designed to be sold alongside the 100 or so Roon Ready networked endpoints that are in the market today. This is how you would install a Nucleus to get the best possible experience.

We also decided not to lock down the local ports because we are not jerks, and we expect that some installations will benefit from the flexibility. If you want to plug in a USB DAC or use the HDMI port for audio output, feel free.

Brain

Is it correct that Roon doesn’t allow / can’t do a bridged network (believe it’s an issue working with a Subnet or whatever)? Is this the reason why the Nucleus only comes with one Ethernet Port?

Thanks Brian,

Understood. Seems like a good design choice as it allows a lot more flexibility.

The reason why Nucleus has only one ethernet port is because it’s based on the NUC platform…which has only one ethernet port.

RoonOS can support multiple network adapters–just need to plug the second one in using USB. The configuration screen lets you set up the two adapters with different addresses or whatever you like.

You could use a device like our microRendu connected to your USB DAC. Another advantage of separate server and plays is you can have the server and spinning drive near your router and away from your listening room. Also you can have multiple players in different rooms of your house.

Thanks for the reply Brian.

Ok, so no restraint on number of Ethernet ports.