Roon Rock on 8th Gen i7 NUC, 8GB RAM

Networking Gear & Setup Details

Directly connected to Router via Ethernet

Connected Audio Devices

Meridian Prime Headphone amp connected to NUC via USB

Library Size

500 tracks

Description of Issue

Using Focal Celestee Headphones, I entered their EQ details that I found online into the Parametric EQ within Roon. When I engage the EQ, MQA is no longer available (no Blue or Green light). When I disengage the EQ, MQA playback is restored.

Please advise.

Hello, Spinaltap!

I’m no expert, but I understand that MQA uses its own EQ settings, so enabling your own EQ prevents MQA from rendering with its EQ, but you are still getting the MQA file, you just lose the indicator because you are using the parametric EQ.

1 Like

What is in-between Roon and the headphones (ie what DAC are you using)? As per @Kursten_Hogard if you are applying DSP the you are not feeding the DAC an MQA bit-stream so it will not be recognised as such.

It should work, if you engage Roon’s MQA core Decoder in advanced device setup, so MQA signaling is preserved when using Roon’s DSP functions.

There’s definitely a bug in the Explorer² firmware which stop it detecting a renderable MQA Core (first decode) signal or displaying that it is detecting and rendering it. The same may, unfortunately, apply to the Prime. @john may have more knowledge than me here.

Parametric EQ in Roon is absolutely compatible with MQA rendering. I use it with my Meridian 818v3/8kSE system to implement room correction filters.

What are the Prime’s endpoint settings in Roon? Decoder and Renderer? Or something else?

1 Like

This is the output without/with the EQ applied.

The Prime is set as Decoder/Renderer.

1 Like

Unfortunately, that confirms my suspicions about the Prime. I think it’s probably a bug in the Prime firmware.

On contacting Meridian via my PP on this issue, their response was…