Philips Hue Tap Dial as Roon Control (Home Assistant)

The Philips Hue Tap Dial is a pretty decent little Zigbee controller with a rotating dial and four buttons. I just started playing with it and have a rudimentary Blueprint working in Home Assistant.

The Blueprint works specifically with Zigbee2MQTT and Mosquito Broker but could probably be modified to work with ZHA or deCONZ (though I don’t use either of those so you’d need to do the work).

If you have a Z2M setup and are interested in playing with my blueprint, let me know and I’ll share it. Getting Mosquito Broker and Z2M set up takes a bit of work but the blueprint makes it very easy to configure this controller to automate a Roon zone (any media player, actually) once you have the basics set up.

2 Likes

Thanks for sharing this. I have a similar setup, Z2M mixed with official Hue integration, works great and indeed this is a very nice device. Sadly the volume up/down is not amazing but definitely works.
I personally also have old school nfc tags here and there in my house to trigger different playlists on Roon via HA, always great to have options

Interesting!

Are you using one of the existing blueprints? What’s the issue you have with volume?

The approach I’m taking is a bit different. I don’t call the existing “volume up” and “volume down” services. I read and then increment or decrement the current volume. This dial generates step, slow, and fast messages for rotation in each direction. My blueprint allows you to set the increment for each. You might set step to 1, slow to 3, fast to 5 for example.

For buttons, 1 is play/pause, 3 is prev track, 4 is next track. Those are all short press and release. You can customize short press of 2, and customize long press of everything.

I’m not super proud of these labels (might try to do something better), but… :slight_smile: