Playing MQA - is it doing what it should do?

I have a Tidal-subscription that I use with Roon on a Auralic Aries Mini, connected to my Wonderfull KEF LS50 Wireless via USB. It sounds and works wonderfully.

But when I play MQA-files from Tidals Masters-selection, I can’t decode what Roon is doing. Is it unwrapping, and playing the files in its full potential.

Look at this picture: Is it playing 44.1 kHz or 352.8 kHz?

Roon doesn’t unfold MQA files at the moment. It is reporting to you what the file is - an MQA coded file that can be unfolded to 352.8 kHz by an MQA DAC.

If you are running the latest Auralic firmware then you may be able to use Auralic’s MQA file solution. I don’t know if Roon can report that.

1 Like

I don’t think Roon will show that it is playing MQA - but the DAC should. You will probably need to turn off zone settings like volume levelling, and turn off DSP settings - basically pass the clean signal to the DAC. Otherwise it probably won’t play MQA. The only visual cue you get on Roon is that instead of showing an enhanced signal, it shows lossless.

I often wonder if MQA is doing what it should do… I listened to Justin Bieber and it still sounded ****.

Decoding MQA files from Roon is not working with Aries. MQA from Tidal ,HDD or NAS played through the Lightning app is working.

So… Why is it all purple balls, when its not bit perfect?

The purple is showing it is a lossless file. There are some questions about if the signal path shows enough detail. It shows more than anything else I’ve seen :slight_smile:

If you use Aries Mini as endpoint, Roon will take over all the necessary processing. If you use Aries Mini as standalone streamer with the Lightning DS software together with the latest firmware 5.x, yes you can Auralic own proprietary decoding. I can confirm coz I’ve tried out.

If Auralic will to enable its own proprietary decoding together with Roon when using as endpoint that will be great. One good example is Lumin music streamers.