QNAP HDDs not going to sleep - there must be a solution

Good morning community!

I know, it has been discussed before but I want to find a solution :slight_smile:

The HDDs of my QNAP NAS are not going to sleep as long as Roon Server is running on my Windows 7 Server. When Roon Server is not running, the HDDs go to sleep after one hour.

As far as I know this is because Roon is scanning the network for Roon devices, what keeps the NAS awake.

Before my QNAP I had a self-built NAS running FreeNAS / NAS4Free and there it worked without problems. NAS was running and HDDs went to sleep after one hour, tough Roon Server was running. When I started playing a song, the HDDs woke up.

I know there are a lot of people who say: let the HDDs run, its better than doing spin up, spin down constantly. But I am a father of two kids :smiley: I only have time 1 or 2 times a week to listen to some music in the evening. So the NAS is not used 90% of the time…

Could there be any possibility to let the HDDs go to sleep though Roon is running? Maybe blocking the ports Roon is using for finding devices on a QNAP internal firewall? Or is there any possibility to start Roon Server on my Windows 7 machine using Logitech Harmony?

Any ideas?

Thx and have a great week!

Chris

Stop roon when you are not using it.

Shut down the nas on a schedule and restart as your normal listening patterns dictate

I have sent you a private message with something you could try, I am unsure if it works. If it does, I’ll post it here again and/or include it in the installer.

Hi wizardofoz!

Stopping and starting Roon Server is what I am doing at the moment. But connecting to the Win 7 server with RDP everytime to start and stop is annoying :wink:
Completely shutting down the NAS is a no way solution because of the WAF :smiley:
My wife needs the NAS now and then. And when its not available when she needs it… whoo hoo :smiley:

Chris

1 Like