Raspberry Pi 4 + Roon

I’m just getting into the Raspberry Pi in my stereo world and I’m loving it so far. I’m wondering if there’s a way to physically connect an external hard drive with my music collection to the Pi and play it through my setup with Roon.

The setup I am currently using is the Raspberry Pi 4 with the Digi2 Pro hat. I’m used RoPieee to set it set it up and to stream through Roon. The Raspberry pie 4 + DIgi Pro 2 hat is connected to my two different DACs, one is the Denafrips Ares II the other is the RME ADI 2 DAC FS, with two of the USB ports in the Pi 2, the blue ports. This set up, along with my turntable, is all connected to my Mackie 802VLZ4 8 channel mini sound board, from there its connected to my headphone amps and speakers. Currently I’m streaming to the Pi 4 via my computer or tablet or phone with Roon, this works but its privy to normal streaming woes. An example is last night I was playing music but it was very slow and paused a often telling me Tidal was having a slow time loading. I was half expecting things like this to happen from time to time.

I do however have an amazing collection super high quality music on an external HD that I’d like to physically connect and play to the Pie 4 and play through Roon. Anyone with experience doing this? Any ideas? I’m happy to try out any other programs anyone has experience with, I’m not married to RoPieee.

Currently my Roon Core is my Laptop and yes of course I can have the external HD connected to my laptop when I want to play the music and disconnect it when I am done but that would defeat the purpose of wanting to have the external HD wired into the system. I’ve done the blind tests of playing it wired vs streaming like that and I can tell the difference.

1 Like

Your Roon Core needs access to your local music files first before it can play them, either on a drive connected to the machine running the Core or a SMB network share that the Core can access over the network.