Redbook rips + HD Tracks

I am very new to ROON and want to know the best/proper way to name/store different versions.

I have all my CDs ripped to my Synology NAS in both ALAC and FLAC. I also have a pretty large amount of tracks purchased from HD Tracks stored there as well.

My question is what is the best way to combine these two different libraries? I have built a NUC10 i7 w/500Gb SSD for ROCK and 4Tb SSD for music.

I have moved all the CD files from the Synology to the NUC. The naming convention is pretty standard:

Artist > Album > Songs

Now obviously I canā€™t put the HD Tracks version of the same album in the Artist folder, so where do I put it and how do I name it for ROON to easily and properly recognize the album different album?

Do I create a folder called ā€˜HD Tracksā€™ and drop all the purchased music in there with the same naming convention as the Redbook Rips? What will ROON do with the folder named ā€˜HD Tracksā€™?

Also, now that I have a Lumin X1 I will be buying and downloading DSD Files. How would I integrate these files with the above?

This is really a case of measure twice and cut once. I just want to do this right from the beginning. If thereā€™s a proper way of doing this Iā€™d like to know. No reason to reinvent the wheelā€¦

Thx!

I use this folder naming convention:

Roon displays such an album as follows:

If you add an album to your Artist folder add the version in square [ ] or normal () brackets Roon will see this as the version . Hence the @DanielAvasilichioaei example above.

Eg Beatles > Abbey Road [HD Tracks]

Also creating a Custom Tag [Version] and making this ā€œHD Tracksā€ is supported

I guess the [ ] approach is best for you as it keeps the albums organised

2 Likes

Mike O used brackets - [HD Tracks]

Daniel A used parenthesis - (HD Tracks)

Does it matter which you use?

I have different base folders that everything branches out from. i.e.

Music_CD
Music_HD_PCM
Music_DSD