Remote cannot find/choose Core on QNAP [Resolved: RoonServer needed an update 1.2 to 1.3]

Hi!

I am a complete Roon newbee. I installed the software on a Roon recommended QNAP meeting all Roon requirements as such (Roon on a Samsung SSD 850 PRO 128GB, music collection on two WDC WD10EFRX). How can I check whether Roon is actually running and/or installed properly. I see no user interface.

It is connected in our network (cabled). Router is a FritzBox 7360. Other network equipment: a 3-COM 2824 Baseline switch. I do see the QNAP on the Windows machines in our network. I have also installed Roon (as Controller) on a Windows machine in our network. Nothing to be found. I have no good knowledge of the more advanced configuration of a NAS (port configuration networkservices on/of?) So if you have any suggestions in that respect please be “gentle”.

Best regards & thank you!
Harm

Hi,

Is the Windows Machine on the same network subnet as the QNAP?
If you’re not sure post there IP addresses on here.

Is the windows machine connected via WiFi or hardwire Ethernet?

Just as a test try disabling the firewall on the Windows machine.

Hi Carl!

Thank you very much for your prompt reply!

Yes everything is connected to one and the the same (sub-) network. We only have one. Apart from our iPhones iPads and Samsung tablet, all the equipment has cabled connections to the network. I have followed your suggestion to diasble the firewall on the Windows machine that I tried to us as “Control”, but to no avail.

I may have made mistakes in the configuration of Roon on the NAS (QNAP TS-453), but I don’t know how to check this, as I cannot find a Roon user interface on the NAS. (Perhaps there isn’t any?)

Thank you again!

I assume that you’ve followed Chris Rieke’s guide and installed his software? The reason that you can’t find a Roon user interface on the NAS is because you have installed Roon Server, and it doesn’t have a user interface - as pointed out in the guide.