Removing the classical tab from those albums that belong to another genre doesn’t work

Can someone help?... I’m having a problem with tabs... clicking on Classical in Genre brings up nearly all my library, even though I’ve removed the (ubiquitous Roon) classical tab from those albums that clearly belong to another genre (early music, baroque, romantic, modern etc)... ie removing this tab doesn’t seem to do anything!.... see screenshot of an example.... is Roon aware of this problem?.... Many thanks in anticipation – G

I am not a genre expert but I believe baroque as far as roon is concerned is a sub category of classical to it will always be there implicitly.

Keyboard too btw.

Thanks for the suggestions but I wonder if I could have a response from Roon please?… You should be able to click on Classical in Genre and get to see all of the albums that have been tagged as classical by the user… otherwise it makes a nonsense of user-set tags

This is just your expectation and not how the software is designed to work with hierarchically organized (nested) genres. As described in the documentation:

You are free to change (edit) the genre hierarchy to your liking - but you have to do it. Open the genre browser and navigate to the genre you wish to edit. Use the 3-dots menu and choose the edit option (pencil) there. For short, you have to edit all sub-genres of Classical (make them a top-level genre) so Classical no longer has sub-genres – likewise with sub-(sub-)genres of the sub-genres that you moved out of Classical if you wish to.

Another option might be to use your own genres (My Classical, My Keyboard, …) that are not prearranged in a hierarchical structure. But for that you would have to change all your files (file tags) and it would obviously also not work for non-file-based content from streaming services (Tidal or Qobuz) which you had to manually edit after import.