ROCK install guide: Step 7: using ROCK

“Start ROON remote or ROON”

On what device? Kinda important point. The NUC will be a headless server, so that’s not the answer.

Want to understand before i begin.

On any device you like, iPhone, iPad, Android Phone, Android Tablet, Windows PC, Mac PC…

I have ROCK on NUC8I7 with remote controllers on iPad, Windows 10 PC, Windows 10 Laptop and Android phone.

thank you. Its probably worth noting that in the install instructions.

Looking forward

G

@Just_Me, did you start your Roon experience with ROCK? I’m trying to understand how you got into this very uncommon situation.

First what “uncommon situation”?

No, i’ve been running the demo, then actual Roon for a couple of months on a very old MacBook Pro. Bought NUC to use as dedicated headless server. Why?

That one doesn’t know where to run Roon/RoonRemote

Generally, a person would start by trying Roon on a mac/pc/linux setup, and then decide much later to have a dedicated Roon OS based device like ROCK+NUC or Nucleus. At that point, they have a very good idea about how the Roon architecture fits their use cases, devices, and environment.

Your original question got me thinking you might have installed ROCK first (or were about to), so you never knew anything about Roon/RoonRemote for your devices and environment.

When completing installation and configuration typical ongoing use configurations sometimes don’t apply. For example, sometimes things must be configured locally before they are ready for remote access. I’m just trying to avoid problems during install and setup. I think you need to consider more explicit instructions.