ROCK VM on ESXi

Hey folks. First off, I want to say this is COMPLETELY unsupported, but I did get ROCK running as a VM on a computer running ESXi.

First some background. Couple years ago I purchased a NUC10I7FNH for ROCK. I didn’t pay much attention to the hardware requirements and WAY overbuilt it with a single 16GB DIMM and a 1TB M.2 drive. ROCK installed, no problem and ran for months but I eventually got to the point where I felt like I was wasting the hardware and would rather have a VMware environment to run some other things and as a lab to play. (Full disclosure, I’m an IT professional.) So I bought a second identical model NUC, added a bunch of RAM (both are running 48GB now), a small SATA SSD to install ESXi on so the 1TB NVMe M.2 drives are the primary storage for VM’s, and ran Roon Core Server on a Mac Mini I wasn’t using.

I eventually got frustrated with running Core on the Mac Mini because I don’t use it for much of anything else and OS updates would leave Core Server stopped (have to remote into it, log back in, and restart it). You know, the kind of things that created the reason for ROCK in the first place with stability and reliability.

Quick note about my Roon environment and why a VM is perfectly fine for me: I pretty much only stream music from hi-res sources, I don’t have a library of music I’ve ripped myself, and I’m using a Roon Ready receiver for playback so I’m not doing any real “work” with my core.

How I did it

So first off, it may be that it worked reasonably smoothly because I’m running ESXi on a NUC, I don’t know, I haven’t tried on any other hardware. I used the Google experts to get through a couple of bits as well. Here’s the process I used, assuming ESXi 7.0 U3, with the WebUI (mostly).

1. Create your ROCK install USB as per the ROCK install instructions (I’m using a Mac and Etcher worked well for me)
  2. Plug the installer USB into your ESXi server
  3. Create a new VM with the following options