ROON 1.8 and intel new integrated graphics

Can anyone give me a good idea whether intel’s new integrated graphics the intel iris xe will be fine for roon 1.8? I would be using the new integrated graphics in a intel mini pc running the new 11th gen. i7 mobile processor as a roon core. I’m really not sure whether an older generation intel dedicated graphics set up would be better.

Why do you believe it wouldnt work?

Hello there,

So it is a question of the brand new iris xe integrated GPU Vs an older 8th to 10th gen. Intel processor with a mid range dedicated discrete GPU. Not sure here. They say the iris xe is a big leap forwards however. The set up will be a mini pc with one 4k screen for roon core and general light work. I’m ready to go on this just waiting for some opinions here.

I’m new to Roon but not new to client-server computing. The computer running the Roon core is doing the video stream handling, managing the algorithms built into the core, interacting with your listening and whatever thumbs up/down you do. It stores album art and other visuals, probably as JPEG and PNG files. The graphics capability of the server should have zero bearing on what you see on your display as far as the Roon Core operations go.

A good example is that I just set up Roon ROCK on a NUC that doesn’t even have a monitor connected to it. I was attracted to this concept because I didn’t want the Roon Core running on a computer that I used for other things, plus I didn’t want that computer to be on all the time. I’m very happy with the piddly little NUC with the 3i processor, 8 GB of memory running the server software. I didn’t twice about its GPU since it will never be used.

The graphics functionality comes into play on via the computer you’re using for the remote. Of course if you’re running the Core on the same computer as the remote it may seem like the video capability of the computer has something to do with the Core and vice versa but I suspect it doesn’t.

Mike