Roon 1.8 vs Latest Audirvana Sound Quality

Hello there, I used to use Roon, the older version and I found that it very objectively has a sound quality that’s not nearly as good or better than the Audirvana player. Now with the Roon 1.8, it’s the perfect music software, just like Spotify, however I’d like to know if many people are agreeing that Roon 1.8 now has great sound quality and there’s no need for HQplayer to achieve that level of sound quality.

I’d like to know how others feel as well. I’ve been using Audirvana for a few years now, and Roon for at least 1.5 to 2 years (at one point, I thought Roon was supposed to have better sound. I was never sure, going between both). I’m going to do some comparisons the next few days, both with my electrostatic speakers and good quality headphones. I will say that with the latests updates, Audirvana sounds great, but I felt that 1.8 Roon was also a possible step forward when I first heard it (streaming via Iphone, with my macbook as the core).
One issue is that I have a new DAC (Denafrips Ares II). Some times Roon does not see it (!) when connected direct to the macbook core, and just wants to use the computer’s system output (not as good a sound as direct connection to DAC). In that case, I move over to Audirvana, which always connects to the DAC, no problem. At this moment at least, Roon and the new DAC have decided to play nice with each other and deliver me some musical enjoyment. Have some nice image depth streaming Mile’s Davis “Filles de Kilimanjaro”

I know Roon has DSP fun built in, but after experimenting, I’m sticking with no EQ/DSP processing.

3 Likes

Same here! I’m keen to know what you realise of the sound quality. I too dislike using EQ or DSP, I believe it goes against the sound the creators designed for, and usually it’s already been tuned rather well since I already got the speaker or headphone for the sound they already provide.

2 Likes

Hi Kai