Roon API: How to uniquely identify an album and access album metadata?

Hi folks,

I’m new to roon, so please bear with me. I’m currently tinkering with the API and there’s a few things I cannot seem to figure out. This is rather basic stuff, so I’m probably just missing something obvious.

How can I uniquely identify an album? I can use the browse API to traverse down the path, but the IDs I get along the way are all ephemeral, and the paths are not necessarily unique or stable as far as I can tell. For example, the Library/Album/Albumname path could change it’s result if the user adds another edition of the album to his library. I am building a homemade TonyBox thing where my kids can put figurines with RFID tags on a box to play music via roon, and I’d like to uniquely associate a Tag with an Album ID. Even if I have that ID, I wouldn’t know how to tell roon how to play an album by unique ID.

How do I access album metadata? From an album. I’d like to retrieve the album artist, catalogue number, publisher, original release date, etc. How do I do this via the API?

Edit: How do I tell local albums from tidal albums? I cannot figure out how to find out whether an album is in my local library or on tidal. Does that come with the metadata (see above) or do i need to do something specific?

Many thanks!

Hi Keno,

You are not missing something obvious. The Roon API is frustratingly extremely limited if you’re used to a more REST-style API like JRiver. To answer specific questions, I believe Album artist is part of the data retrieved for an album instance, but there is no way to access any of the other metadata you’re requesting, associate permanent IDs to albums, tracks, artists, etc, or tell local from streaming.

Maybe part of the new efforts under Harman ownership will include a major API overhaul, which as far as I can tell hasn’t had any attention paid since it’s initial release in 2017.

2 Likes