Roon Bridge basic questions

I am very new to Roon and based on advise I have purchased a Roon Endpoint / Bridge Volumio / RoPieee Streamer Pi4 B from Ebay.

Currently I have Roon core on my laptop, connecting direct to my Chord Hugo TT2 via USB

I bought the Bridge under the impression that it would improve the sound quality some degree, but feel may of misunderstood its purpose and in turn wasted money.

• Is this the case, that it will make little/no improvement to my audio?
  • How would I be connecting this, I understand that it would be via Ethernet from my laptop to the Bridge, then USB into my DAC?
  • Is this the case, that it will make little/no improvement to my audio? - Yes, due to less noise.

How would I be connecting this, I understand that it would be via Ethernet from my laptop to the Bridge, then USB into my DAC? - Control from your main computer as Roon Core, another computer with Bridge installed, use USB cable into your dac. Make sure your Roon Core and Bridge connected in a same network.

Thanks, so my chain will be PC (Core) > Ethernet > Roon Bridge > USB > Hugo TT2, is that correct?

Hi @Mark_Jullion and welcome to the Roon forum.

The chain you suggest is the right one. The change in setup isn’t guaranteed to sound better, in both cases the final USB link in the chain is effectively identical. It’ll only improve if:

• the DAC is poor at rejecting/shielding noise at the USB input, this is unlikely, I don’t own a TT2 but Chord’s USB implementations are generally solid; and
  • the Pi endpoint generates less USB noise than the PC, again not a given.

FWIW my belief is that none of the above is a real world problem if the DAC’s well made, and yours probably is. The separate endpoint arrangement does afford other advantages, your PC is no longer tethered to the DAC is one. You’ll need the Pi hardware or similar if you have ambitions for multiple Roon endpoints as well. Enjoy.