Roon Bridge on Raspberry Pi 4 performs bit depth conversion 24 bit to 16 bit when playing to HDMI audio output

Hi Everyone,

I am a Roon noob, and hoping to set up a way to play Tidal MQA at the best possible quality on my Denon AVR-X4400H receiver. I am specifically hoping to play MQA content without downsampling to the “Roon Ready” Airplay interface to the Denon. So, I have purchased a Raspberry Pi 4 which I am wanting to set up as a bit-perfect Roon “RAAT” bridge to the Denon.

I am trying to set up:
Tidal MQA music -> Roon Server on Mac -> Roon Server does first MQA unfold on Mac, to 96KHz/24bit -> Raspberry Pi 4 + Ubuntu 20.04 LTS 64bit + Roon Bridge armv8 -> Raspberry Pi HDMI Audio output -> Denon AVR-X4400H Receiver

What I expect is Tidal MQA music being unfolded to 96KHz/24bit on Roon Server -> Roon Bridge and being sent bit-perfect to the Denon over HDMI cable. Instead, what I am getting is Roon showing “bit depth conversion 24 bit to 16 bit”.

From my understanding (but happy to be corrected) the Raspberry Pi 4, with its 2x HDMI outs, can do audio from its HDMI ports at 192KHz/24bits, so not sure where/why in the chain the 24bit to 16bit conversion is happening.

Does anyone have any guidance on what might be the issue here? Thanks in advance!

Here are some screenshots of my Roon setup:

By way of elimination, I thought I’d also follow up that something similar happens when I change the Raspberry Pi software. Instead of using Ubuntu 20.04 LTS 64 bit + Roon Bridge armv8, I also tried a Volumio + Roon Bridge plug in setup has follows:

Tidal MQA music -> Roon Server on Mac -> Roon Server does first MQA unfold on Mac, to 96KHz/24bit -> Raspberry Pi 4 + Volumio + Roon Bridge plug in -> Raspberry Pi HDMI Audio output -> Denon AVR-X4400H Receiver

I get exactly the same 24bit to 16bit conversion in Roon. Here are some screenshots of this set up: