Roon Extension: Athom Homey

Hi there,

Let me first introduce me. I’m an independant software developer from The Netherlands. And I like tinkering a lot, accompanied by lots of music.

Lately I developed some NodeJS app for my Athom Homey. (https://www.athom.com/). To be able to control Roon. The Homey is a real cool device. It has several radio antennas, an infrared receiver/transmitter. Basically it allows you to control everything in and around your house. It runs the latest version of NodeJs internally. So perfect match for the Roon api.

The app is currently in beta mode: https://github.com/mebrein/node-homey-roon. Of course you need to own a Homey device. The app now implements some basic functions like pausing/starting a zone. And the ability turning on some lights when Roon starts/stops. It can handle multiple zones. Once the app is accepted in the app store, it will be available to all Homey users. I’m really excited about it, although I have no clue how many Roon users actually have a Homey :wink:

Coming weeks I will keep adding more and more features to make it feature complete. Till now I had lots of fun developing this. And many thanks @Roonlabs thanks for making the api available on the NodeJS platform!!! I really enjoyed using it.

Best regards,
Merijn

2 Likes

@MvM, maybe you should get this added into @Jan_Koudijs extension manager…you both are from the same neck of the woods too.

Jan how to manually add this to the existing infrastructure your setup has?

I’m not sure if there’s a use case for it since the app ‘lives’ in the Homey device. Btw, the Homey is from the same woods too :sunglasses:

Looks like you have hit a milestone (I just checked their app store…)