Roon Frontend on Multitouch Display, Compute Stick recommendations?

Hello there,

I’m very new to the whole Roon Software and concept. But I think this will be the end of my journey. At the beginning of this year I build up a whole new Homeserver (my old Syno NAS was too old and too slow), so I got me and my Family another Solution. Went from All in One NAS to a completely self build unraid Server. Runs pretty well. First gave PLEX a try for Media serving, but only the Video part. Was never satisfied about the music part. After a few tests for handling my music collection (subsonic, airsonic, beets, LogitechMediaServer, …) I ended up testing Roon. Got here by searching the web for music library server on unraid and/or Docker. airsonic ran pretty well, but the way music is served to the enduser is not that what I wanted. Actually I`m in the 14 day free trial but I think this is exactly what I wanted. Especially for multiroom/zone.
Back to the Topics title.

I’m planning to buy a 22" or 23" multitouch Display for presenting and controlling my Collection. There`s no need for audio Playback, it shoul just be something like a nice, large remote controll for my collection.
My plan was to buy some kind of HDMI compute stick with Windows 10 installed on it, but what are the recommendations for the hardware part of this stick ? The plan was to buy something with 4GB of Ram and 64GB of storage. What do you think about this? This stick is connected by Wifi to the local Network. Or would it be better to buy some kind of mini PC with a classical Ethernet Port ? I mean my favorite would be the stick (small form factor, quiet, less power consumption).

Greetings from a new Roon loving user

1 Like

Hi! And Welcome!
I think you’d be best off by skimming through the Getting Started Section of Roon KB:
Roon Labs | Getting Started Knowledge Base