Roon - Library vs tidal

hi, I am new to Roon. I knew before hand it merges all of my local library files with Tidal. Besides going to a particular album manually and setting a default, is there a way to open and view only the local library?

Also, if a change is made, does Roon scan and update on the fly? or do I need to apply a setting on the Roon core app? thanks

1 Like

in album (or track view), focus, inspector, storage locations, click once on tidal if it’s green.

Yes, if your storage is directly attached to your core (i.e, if your files are on the same computer Roon is running on). If they’re on a NAS, it can be hit and miss.

2 Likes

So, I’ll give you a quick answer, and others will likely say it better.

If you want to, you can use the Focus feature to create a view of just your local library (eg, via Focus->Inspector->Storage Locations), and bookmark it. You can also do that for subfolders in your local library. You can then do what’s called “bookmarking” that focus, and then you’ll have it.

In practice, I find a much easier thing to do is simply to browse my library, and enable the file format view in albums (doesn’t work on phones, only on tablet / desktop remotes) and then my eye knows which ones have the Tidal or Qobuz icon. It can get a little more complicated, because what’s shown is the default value - and the default is I beleive the best bitrate, so for albums that I have streaming in my library AND a local copy, streaming will often default over my local redbook unless I reset it manually.