Roon Ready devices for 5.1 or higher

I’d like to see a list of Roon Ready devices that can handle surround streams like 5.1 or higher. This is typically not clear in the product descriptions and most streamers can only handle stereo streams. The brands listed on the Roon web page do not in general support surround.
I’m a music producer and I’m using Roons since many years to listen to my mixes in different speakers/environments during the production process. The only working solution to listen to my surround mixes for now is to let Roon stream to the HDMI port of my MacBook Pro and connect a HDMI cable to my home cinema system. A better solution would be to have a surround receiver that could work as an interface to Roon.

1 Like

I don’t know of any Roon Ready AVRs, but connecting an HDMI cable directly between my Anthem MRX 710 and a recent Roon Nucleus lets me play multichannel music on that system. The HDMI outputs on the Nucleus show up as Zones in Roon. My AVR never shows up but it still works.
The 2nd Nucleus HDMI output is welcome so I am planning on running a second HDMI cable through the wall to get Roon working in a second room on another MRX 710.
Another benefit is the MRX 710 processes via HDMI at its maximum digital processing capability.
Other digital inputs are limited.

Merging + make Roon Ready multichannel Dacs

1 Like

NAD has a least one AVR and a pre-pro that support bluos, so perhaps they also work with roon. Not positive though.

Exasound (may not have the name quite right) has some nice surround dacs

How about a microrendu with usb output to an avr that can do surround via usb? Not sure if this works, so you’d have to look into it.

They do, but, you need their streamer component as well as the DAC.

Thanks for all comments.