Roon security issues with remotes

I am new to Roon so perhaps I am wrong. Remotes have the option to delete albums. This means that everybody on your network with a Roon Core (with a Roon remote) has the option to delete your entire music collection. Am I right about this? It would be nice to explicitly whitelist remotes in Roon Core. Nobody wants to lose their music collection because of a silly prank or something else.

I can imagine that in the time Roon was created, security was of a lesser importance then it’s today. To see this in 2020 does make the hair in my neck stand up. The Roon remote app and the server page on Rock makes it possible for everybody in my network to do a lot of damage. It’s not a lot of work to fix this.

I venture to suggest that to do it properly, is probably quite a lot of work… :slightly_smiling_face:

Yes, it could be. I think the remotes talk to Core with an API. You can put in some authorization there. But i’m afraid the communciation between remote and core is not encrypted. Not sure though. Did no research. Jet.

And remotes are one thing. If you are able to delete music via the API you dont even need a remote app to delete the complete music collection.

Possible workaround for this, which I tried myself with success: I basically store all my music on a NAS. Roon has its own user account on that, which can only access the files as read-only.

Well, perhaps that would be an easy thing for Roon to implement, and a short term fix?
On the Settings > Storage page, under options, there could be a “Folder is read only” setting?

Every remote can change the settings :slight_smile:

Personally, I’m pro building security inside the Roon ecosystem. I see that as part of guest users, more elaborate profiles, etc… I don’t consider the security aspect a high priority though.