Roopieee Disappears

Hi,

I’m a newbie here so hopefully this covers all the information needed:

Roon Core:
Mac Mini M1, 8GB/256GB Ram, hardwired into one of the Netgear Mesh Endpoints (MR60) Connected to the MS60 signal repeater. G Drive 6TB HDD by USB C to the mac mini

Enpoint(s):
Pi 4 4GB with Roopieee running on the Pi with Schiit Hel DAC attached, over wifi which is >300MBp/S & Sonos system around the apartment.

The issue I’m experiencing is playing from both Tidal and local files the audio pauses almost buffering to use another term every few minutes. Then I’ve kept a close eye on the roon core this morning I get a variety of messages:

“File loading too slowly”

Then when I have had it playing once more the Pi disappears from Roon and the playback stops and it can’t be selected as an endpoint.

Hi. Welcome to the community.

One thing worth clarifying up front. Is your Core hard wired to the apartment network (and external internet) or just to the Mesh unit? If just to the mesh, I would strongly recommend hardwiring the Core to the network instead. This is recommended by Roon as the quality of the Core connection has a significant impact on the overall system - check the Roon Knowledge Base.

Most of us living in apartments have regular challenges with WiFi, even using Mesh. Superficially your speeds look great, but if you have a lot of other apartments competing for bandwidth you may find your experience is less than acceptable. This may still be OK for your endpoints (less traffic) but not for your Core.

Hope this helps.

Hi Anthony,

My core is hardwired to the mesh extender for want of a better word, so not to the same unit which my external router is attached to. The difficulty with that is my router is about 2.5m up a wall with no easy location to add my core nearby.

I’d hoped by having the core linked directly via ethernet to the extender this would be sufficient…

Thanks

Hi Joe