RoPieee issues -- can't get to GUI

I just got a RPi4B. I can get it to work just fine running Raspberry Pi OS. But I have been unable to get it to run RoPieee. I’ve tried both plain and XL; I’ve tried using two different microSD cards. The install process runs through all the non-GUI steps, says it is starting Roon bridge, shows the message “We’re ready. RoPiee is RUNNING …”

and then nothing. Screen goes black, no response to keyboard or mouse. The green LED flashes once every second or so. No GUI. No nothing.

Can anyone tell me what I’m doing wrong? Or maybe a workaround that doesn’t involve RoPieee?

Thanks in advance.

Hi John, I’m no Ropieee expert, but there is no local GUI.
It’s all done on the web configuration page, which is where you may be getting confused.

I have always set mine up on Ethernet, it will then show up in Roon under Settings->Audio and that will give you the IP address.
Just put that into your web browser and then you will be able to configure everything you need.

There is an excellent getting started manual that would be really helpful to you. Do a search for it on the site here or on Google and it will walk you through the whole process.

1 Like

Just had a quick Google for you and this is what you want

There is Also the main web page for getting started with Ropieee at RoPieee | Getting Started

From that page I found the following:
You can also visit the web page of the RoPieee to configure some items if necessary. For that you need to either know what the IP address is of your RoPieee or you can visit http://ropieee.local (or http://ropieeexl.local for RoPieeeXL)

Michael:

Thanks for responding so quickly. I feel pretty stupid missing the part of the manual where it says you have to configure it through a browser (on another device on the network, of course).

Now the IP address for the RPi shows up on my router. Great! Except… None of my browsers on multiple computers will connect to it, and it doesn’t show up in Roon.