Seeking a recommendation re:SonicTransporter/microRendu package?

I have a Roon and TIDAL subscription and a new Mytek Brooklyn DAC. I want to stop using my laptop for the Roon core. I’m considering getting a SonicTransporter/microRendu package to get more flexibility and better sound. Is this a good way to go? Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

I have exactly this combination of server and streamer in my main system (though not the Mytek Brooklyn DAC–I use a Wyred 4 Sound DAC2), and it works wonderfully–superb sound through my trusty Adcom 555 Mk II amp feeding PSB Synchrony One speakers. Roon Core, Roon db and all my music (about 2500 ripped albums) are on a SonicTransporter-AP, playback controlled with an iPad Pro. (I will say that the latest Roon control app for iOS does not always behave well with Roon Core on the sT-AP, but an occasional reboot of the app usually solves the problem.)

I know a few people with ST’s who aren’t overwhelmed by them, but haven’t used one myself.
Would definitely consider a Nuc and the upcoming ROCK - Roons OS made for RoonCore only. Then you also have the option of turning it into a windows/Linux machine if it doesn’t suit. Or just get a generic computer, especially if you’re using a microrendu or similar.

A few microrendu users I know have changed to the SMS-200, which apparently has the edge (certainly looks well engineered inside) and is cheaper. There’s an SMS-200 ‘ultra’ rumoured round the corner too.

Steve, have you seen any user reviews comparing the uRendu with the SMS-200? Just curious. I will be curious to see just what the ‘ultra’ will be.

Not user reviews as such. Hans behkhauzen, (spelling apologies) and the odd user here and there on various forums changing. No other details about the ultra, just rumours based on an alleged sotm comment.