Setting up a Raspberry Pi2 with RoonBridge Step-by-Step (OSX version)

*** Since I wrote the guide below, @RBM did a very nice guide here which is much more complete and covers add-on boards such as hifiberry, as well as cubox, so that’s probably a better place to start. Meanwhile I’ll carry on here with my journey of using the Pi ***

Continuing the discussion from Raspberry pi3,picoreplayer,hifiberry?:

I did one this morning elsewhere, so when I saw your post I thought I’d copy it here. I have some Linux skills and experience, but it’s more been on a ‘need to know’ basis, and I don’t do it for a living. So I’m probably at the more technical end of the spectrum but don’t know much about Raspbian. Hopefully this helps someone getting a RPi setup with RoonBridge from a Mac users perspective.

Installing Debian Jessie Lite and RoonBridge on the Pi. Step-by-Step OSX version, based on a Pi2 wired ethernet, all done headless via a Mac.

This took me 5 mins max, and worked first time. I’ve now got the option of multiple zones, using a setup costing about £40! Follow this guide if you want to do the same!

Download Raspbian Jessie Lite from RaspberryPi.org: https://downloads.raspberrypi.org/raspbian_lite_latest

For writing the SD card, I’d suggest (the free) ApplePiBaker: http://www.tweaking4all.com/hardware/raspberry-pi/macosx-apple-pi-baker/

Put the SD card in your Mac, run PiBaker, check the SD card is listed on the left window. Load the downloaded .img file for Jessie Lite in the ‘Pi-ingredients’ box on the right. Press ‘Restore Backup’.

Once its ‘baked’, eject the SD card and put it in the (powered off) Pi. Connect the Pi to a wired network, and turn it on.

Once booted, find the Pi’s IP address - use any of the free tools on the App store, or look in your DHCP server or routers ‘connected devices’ page, and I’m sure there are command line utilities too.