Setting up ROCK on NUC - Yes, BIOS, what about other Intel drivers/firmware?

New Here…, Thanks for your patience if this is a stupid question. I’m trying to set up a NUC with ROCK. Stuck on this question:

For my NUC model, Intel lists 8 separate driver/firmware updates (7 drivers, 1 firmware) Seems like the thunderbolt and ethernet updates are important…, yes? no? I updated the BIOS, but before I put ROCK on, are any of these required?

Intel Ethernet (LAN) Network Driver
Intel Wireless Bluetooth Driver
Intel Wireless Technology-based Driver
Intel Chipset Device Software for NUC
Intel Ethernet (LAN) Network Connection Driver
Thunderbolt 3 Firmware Update Tool
INF Driver Pack for NUC
Intel Graphics DCH Driver for NUC

I assume those are all recommended inside windows? If so, I think anything you update will get blown away when you install ROCK which brings with and goes to get all its own drivers. But I’m no expert.

That said, it can’t hurt, so why not?

1 Like

I picked a random NUC, surely the same for yours. These drivers are all for Windows. You don’t care about those because you are going to install ROCK, not Windows.

1 Like

Thank you @Suedkiez . Just needed a little collective confidence… :wink: I’m moving forward. Skipping all these updates.

Thank you!

1 Like

Have fun and I hope you can enjoy soon

1 Like

Thank you, @Johnny_Ooooops . Yes, most are for “windows”…, except for the Thunderbolt driver…,

I was hoping not to have to go through the whole bloody Windows install, account setup, etc. etc…,

Is Thunderbolt USB important?

You won’t be running Windows, so none of it is important.

1 Like

One on the driver list is a Thunderbolt driver for Windows, the other is the Thunderbolt Update Tool also for Windows. It’s not mentioned in the driver description but see the third column. Again from a random NUC page, below. In any case, nothing in ROCK uses Thunderbolt anyway

1 Like