Setting up Roon with Berkeley Audio Reference 3 DAC

I am new to ROON and streaming audio. I have always listened to analog and am not computer savvy.
I have a reference audio system with a Berkeley Audio Reference 3 DAC. My router is a Netgear Nighthawk which is hardwired. I have approximately 400 albums in FLAC files and I would like to set up streaming audio with lossless files. I have not yet invested in any hardware for streaming…
Where do I begin?

1 Like

Welcome to the community George.

There are several options available which will add streaming capabilities to your DAC. These will range from very little to not so little money :slight_smile: This is something we can talk about but let’s park it for now.

I presume you have not yet installed Roon?

Tell us a bit more about the gear in your system.

You are correct…I have not yet downloaded ROON.
My stereo gear is extensive.
Analog section:
TW Acustic Raven Black Night turntable
Kuzma linear tracking air suspension tonearm
Koetsu Coralstone cartridge
CH Precision P1 phono preamp
Convergent Audio Technology Legend Signature preamp
Digital section:
mbl 1621A transport
Berkeley Audio Alpha Reference 3
Speakers:
Magico Q7 MK II

1 Like

Hi, George! Welcome to the forum!

Well, Roon is a computer program, so you’ll need a computer to run it on. It runs on lots of different ones, so that’s not hard. I started with an old Mac Mini, then moved to a Windows laptop, then to a custom Linux desktop, and now I run it on my old Synology NAS. So if you’ve got an old laptop, that works well as a starting point.